Ideas for my homegrown sage? (best roast chicken tips thrown in)

My veggie garden is jumping out of its skin today.

I have so much sage – it’s time to share some ideas and some sage!

I am thinking of roasting a beautiful Saskia Beer free range chicken which I bought yesterday from DJs foodhall. Might go simple and sandwich sage leaves under the chicken skin with a touch of olive oil, butter and sea salt flakes. Or maybe I should add some chopped sage to a chicken sausage mince, dried apricot and pistachio stuffing – What do you think? The stuffing can be cooked in a loaf tin next to the roasting chicken in the oven and doesn’t actually need to be ‘stuffed’ – if you stuff the chicken cavity this complicates roasting times and the stuffing can end up undercooked and the chicken breast in particular, overcooked. I also love the crispy top you get on a loaf tin roasted stuffing.

I’m off to NZ this weekend so might try and squeeze in another sage inspired meal before I go – maybe crisp up some leaves in a burnt butter sauce for gnocchi or make some beautiful bolognese sauce to keep my freezer looking healthy while I am gone – I love the traditional flavours of rosemary and sage in a bolognese.

Do you have any other ideas, I am getting hungry?

Kamilla x

p.s. Roast Chicken Tips:  When roasting chicken at home, pat the skin dry, rub over a little olive oil and sprinkle on some sea salt flakes (don’t add pepper at this stage as it tends to burn in the heat of the oven – I add cracked pepper just before serving). Put the chicken in a 220degC oven for 10 mins to help the skin crisp up. Then turn the oven down to 180degC, at which time, put a ramekin of boiling water in the oven with the roasting chicken. It creates steam which helps keep the chicken moist and the skin crisp. I learnt this trick from my friend Gay M. on a skiing trip at Whistler which I joined for a few days when I was studying in Vancouver 12 years ago – thanks Gay this has given us years of tasty roast chickens. I have discovered recently (in fitting out our Kamilla Johns Real Food production kitchen) that top commercial combi ovens (upwards of $12,000 new) are designed, in a much more sophisticated way of course, to produce a similar result – you can program the ovens to cook with different degrees of added steam depending on the dish.

Tags: ,

Categories: Recipes

Sign up for posts and ideas

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Ideas for my homegrown sage? (best roast chicken tips thrown in)”

  1. Bec
    22/02/2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Sage in savoury muffins is great…
    It also goes really well w lamb – roast especially
    Or in a pea and Parmesan risotto

    Ps I need your roast chill cutting tips again – mine never looks as good as yours….

    Enjoy nz

    • 22/02/2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Great ideas – love it. I make pesto muffins to go with soups – i just love the idea of using sage in them. people have a love/hate relationship with sage and i just love it. i am going to post a video of the roast chicken carving – will let you know when to expect it
      Kamilla xxx

  2. 22/02/2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Yes! This recipe from a fabulous Seattle chef: http://food52.com/recipes/16204_jerry_traunfelds_root_ribbons_with_sage. Or sage and other herbs are great worked into the dough of a handmade pasta like this one: http://emmycooks.com/2012/02/08/eat-your-greens-easy-handmade-spinach-pasta/. Sauce it with a little butter, of course.

  3. Bec
    22/02/2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I also make homemade foccacia bread and work herbs into the dough – usually basil, rosemary and parsley but sage would be good
    If you add some toppings before you cook it (spinach, peppers, cherry toms and cheese) the kids love this for lunch or dinner x

  4. Carly
    22/02/2012 at 9:15 pm #

    My best use is for a simple breakfast that feels a bit special, adding sage to scrambled eggs. Sauté the sage with butter then add the eggs to the pan and cook as usual. Even better again with some smoked salmon on top when you serve. Yum!

Leave a Reply

