NZ Treats

What a week we’ve had catching up with family – We rented a house at Ferry Landing on the Coromandel on the North Island of New Zealand. There was lots going on and the kids especially loved the adventure – beach time, fishing trips and bathtime with 9 (1-6 year old) kids squished in the big spa bath. My 3 year old twins each caught a few snapper and have been telling everyone about it since.

The Coromandel is very beautiful, authentic and villagey. Stunning beaches with views of rocky islands and outcrops. In Whitianga (a 2 minute ferry ride from Ferry Landing) I found the Monk St Markets, a lovely Dutch deli selling real aged edam cheeses wrapped in authentic Dutch breathable cheese paper (the “Montana”, an aged cheese half way between a gouda and an edam was amazing and I am trying to track some down in Sydney) organic fruit and veg (including some incredible red pears) and authentic salty liquorice – something my Dutch mum brought me up on. I ate a little too much liquorice in one go as there were no other takers. But it was seriously satisfying.

When I didn’t think we could eat any better, my brother in law Matt went diving for scallops – eating scallops within a few hours of being shelled, was probably the best food moment I’ve had this year yet. The scallops were so big and beautiful. The roe was bright bright orange and the flesh firm and sweet. The little gems smelt purely of the sea. I love eating something which is so familiar but that tastes so good it could be a new food group (a bit like a fashion lover buying a real Louis Vuitton bag after years of carrying around a well used fake). I love growing my own fruit and veg for the same reason because I get to try fruit and veg in their most perfect and real state. In the state you are meant to eat them.

Of course it helps to have access to a decent sized fishing boat and local knowledge of guarded secret scallop beds off the NZ coast. But in NZ and here too at the fish markets, although pricey, you can get very good quality fresh NZ scallops which come closeish.

Matt cooked the  scallops in a little butter at a v high temperature of course to get delicious colour on them – and served with a little sea salt.

My contribution to the meal was a dish of roast cauliflower florets topped with a cumin, butter, bocconcini, pine nuts and bread, crumb – rub the crumb with some sea salt flakes and pepper in your fingers like you would an apple crumble topping and sprinkle over the cauliflower and then bake for 10-15 minutes at 180degC until the crumb is brown and crispy and the cauliflower crisp but softened a little. Cauliflower and scallops are a beautiful match but this fresh crunchy and light cauliflower bake is great with a pasture raised sirloin, roast chicken or some fish too.

We also had a few bottles of Neudorf chardonnay from Nelson in the South Island (my sister in law’s home town) – A must try if you can get your hands on a bottle.

Kamilla x

Tags:

Categories: Recipes

Sign up for posts and ideas

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “NZ Treats”

  1. 19/03/2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I loved reading this post and seeing your photos. My husband and I spent 3 months in NZ a few years ago and loved the food–we both cooked a lot and enjoyed many restaurants. And we have lots of gorgeous photos of produce from our trip! We also loved being able to help ourselves to mussels and oysters from outside our friends’ houses (in Pelorus Sound).

  2. 19/03/2012 at 12:13 pm #

    P.s. I just got an email from Cuisine (my favorite food magazine!) and it mentioned stopping for “an espresso and a couple of fluffies.” What is a fluffy?! I love learning all the NZ-isms. 🙂

  3. 08/04/2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Fluffy! ha is quite confusing for us Australians too. It’s a ‘baby chino’ or baby coffee comprising fluffy milk, a dusting of drinking chocolate and usually at least one marshmallow on the side! My kids love them of course. Cuisine is a great food mag x

  4. 06/06/2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Hello, I just hopped over to your web page through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thank you for making something well worth browsing.

Leave a Reply

